Works for Piano Works for Voice & Piano Dramatic Works Works for Symphonic Band Chamber Works without Voice Chamber Works with Voice Choral Works Works for Orchestra Works for Voice &ampl Orchestra Works by Genre

Works for Voice & Orchestra

Interlude and Ecstatic Alice
from In Memory of a Summer Day (Child Alice, Part I)
for soprano (amplified) and orchestra (1980)

25 min.

13 March 1981
Bovard Auditorium, Los Angeles
Suzanne Marie Rodas, soprano / University of Southern California Symphony / Daniel Lewis, conductor

3(III=picc).3(III=corA).3(III=Ebcl).bcl.3(III=dbl)- and large susp.cym/vib/small and large tam-t/BD/tamb/TD/SD/glsp/t.bells/xyl/marimba/cym/wind machine/ant.cym-2 harps-cel-strings

preface poem for "Through the Looking Glass" by Lewis Carroll

Program Note:
"Interlude" grows out of the March's (surprisingly) quiet ending and includes an altered recapitulation of music from the Introduction
"Ecstatic Alice," which follows, is Carroll's dream, a dream of love. It is a second setting of the poem (the same one used in "Simple Alice") colored entirely by this infatuation. What he could not express - perhaps even feel - waking is now given full, romantic rein. The key-change, too, is significant. Both "Simple Alice" and the Marcia were in A Major. Here suddenly the key goes up a half-step to B-flat major, a release from the earth-bound A!

"Ecstatic Alice" is an aria in the grandest sense of the word; beginning with another version of the "Simple Alice" melody, it soars eventually to a Liebestod-like climax, subsiding then into quietude.

In the complete performance of Child Alice, Part 1 comes to a surprisingly abrupt conclusion and is followed by an intermission. For a separate performance of In Memory of a Summer Day, I have written a concert ending.

Copyright © 2008 David Del Tredici. All Rights Reserved. Site design by Dennis Tobenski.